Skip to content
2010/06/18 / Sullen Cindy

High School Reunion


So, I wasn’t going to post anything today, as yesterday’s bunny post was just so traumatic that I’ve pretty much been curled up in the foetal position in the bathtub for the past 24 hours, holding a stick and keeping a wary eye out for any of those killer bunnies. *looks around suspiciously*

Anyway, I digress. So apparently this weekend is my 10 year high school reunion, which, blissfully, I am not attending. In all honesty, I kinda did want to go, if for nothing else but to point and laugh at people with my friends, but it’s probably better this way. Like most people (except for those sick bastards who remember high school as their ‘glory days’), I did not enjoy high school. It was me against the world and I was losing. It could have been worse, but save for the good friends I made and a few hilarious stories, high school is better left forgotten.

However, I did have big dreams about how going back for the reunion would go. See, I figured I would enter the ballroom (of course, it has to be a ballroom), looking fabulous (not just regular fabulous, but movie star/possible deity fabulous), and everyone would look up at me, mouths agape, some dropping their wine glasses as my awesomeness pierced through their skulls, others weeping silently on the floor, too overwhelmed by my success and brilliance to continue on. And possibly some having seizures/religious-like fits in a corner somewhere – I’m not entirely sure. I think that sounds pretty likely, right?

Of course, in reality, I’d be ignored by the people who snubbed me in high school, as they go about their still fabulous lives, destroying any self-confidence I’ve gained through my ten years of post secondary education, leaving me a mere shell of myself, rocking and sobbing in a filthy bathroom stall, screaming ‘why won’t they like me!’ or the such.

Or, in the even more likely scenario, I’d end up hanging out with the friends I still hang out with, whom I see on a regular yearly basis, making the $1000 trip to the states for the sole purpose of attending the reunion completely and utterly pointless. Yes.

On a totally unrelated note, I do have very bouncy hair today.

Leave a Reply

